Self-Care, Yoga Practice, Yoga Teacher

The Heart Chakra

In connecting to the mid-point of our subtle body we find our heart centre. Anahata, the Sanskrit word for our fourth chakra, means un-struck. My interpretation of this is to live from our hearts as though we have never been hurt before. The idea of a heart that has been struck representing grief, heartbreak, or being jaded against love for fear of being hurt again. Our hearts are the element of air. When our hearts are in pain it is difficult to breathe. When our hearts are open, like being newly in love, we feel energized and joyful. When we are in a period of grief or out of touch from the love within us, all areas of our life will feel affected. We will be out of touch from both our sense of self, emotional – second chakra, and sense of power – third chakra, but also our spiritual connection, seventh chakra. In essence we feel disconnected.

Granted at times in our life we will need to grieve, we will need to spend time in mourning to process the pain of losing someone close or the end of something dear. Yet, there are so many times in our life we find ourselves slipping in to this same sensation without reason. Heart meditations can be strong daily affirmations to promote the boundless love we have within us. To connect us to all living creatures, for us to feel empathy and compassion to those we come in contact with. Sitting in meditation, can help us uncover blocks or feelings of vulnerability in our heart centre, and without analyzing why they came to be, simply moving to clear the energy through breath and a general feeling of lightness.

 Meditation on Love

How would our life look if we chose to live by our hearts? In our work, in all of our relationships, even with the people we only briefly meet. To surround ourselves in positivity, self-practice and care. But to truly live in love we must be honest with ourselves. We must confront the whispers in our heart, we must be fearless to live and act and speak on the deepest desires of our hearts, to surrender and to trust. In this moment, what is the sensation we feel in our heart centre? Can we follow this sensation to an emotion?

What does our heart call for?

What creates a sense of peace within?

This is our dharma – our reason, and what will continue to move us forward. Anahata, the Sanskrit word for our heart chakra, literally translates to un-struck. To experience the purity of love, the freedom of our open hearts we must let go of the pain, the grief, the damage, whatever words we use to describe why we can’t move forward – why we are stuck or struck. We have no choice but to surrender and let the universe take care of us. We must practice true love, unconditional love for ourselves, for our friends, for our family and our partners. Unconditional love means no conditions. Love for loves sake.

Please feel free to share this meditation in your classes or hold in your own heart

Namasté, Lisa


Shop Cover Pages_ Theme Packs-2


Looking for more teaching and practice tools? Check out my E-Book: Chakra Journey. Includes detailed information on each of the 7 chakras, class flows and guided meditations to use for each. Download your copy HERE.

11 thoughts on “The Heart Chakra”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s